Most of us have been where you are right now. You just want to get rid of the whole account and not deal with it again. You can do that. OR you could just Deactivate your account so everything will still be there when you decide to come back. It’s up to you.
Here’s how to do both:
When you deactivate your account, your Timeline vanishes immediately from view. The only thing remaining will be messages that you have sent to other people. All of your information is still saved on the Facebook servers though. So if in 2 days or 2 months you decide you miss all of your friends, just head to Facebook, log in, and you’re back in business. Logging in essentially reactivates your account.
To Deactivate your account click HERE.
If you are quite sure that you’re never coming back, then you won’t be scared to delete your account completely. Facebook has provided means to back up your information though. Just go to your Settings and click on Download a Copy of your Facebook data. I recommend you do this before you delete anything.
To delete your account, click HERE.
Once you have selected Delete My Account, there will be a few days processing (your Timeline isn’t viewable, you just have some time to change your mind). If you log in to your account at any time in those two days, you will cancel the deletion request. Otherwise, everything will be deleted and there is no going back.
Social media can definitely be crazy at times. Just remember that completely deleting your account is not the only option you have. You can also delete specific friends, change your privacy settings, remove yourself from groups, or adjust your notifications so you are only exposed to Facebook when you actually log in (I did this and it’s worked wonders).